City Council appointed Board of Commissioners George Y. Birdsong. George W. Scott, Rev. M.R. Boone, G. S. Hobbs and Marvin R. Stephenson designating George Birdsong as Chairman and Assistant City Manager C.M. Moyers as Temporary Secretary. The Commissioners met with the Planning Commission to discuss plans for public housing sites, the need for a zoning subdivision and minimum housing ordinances. An Organizational meeting was held on July 6, 1971 and the Bylaws and Seal were adopted. Mr. George Scott was elected Vice Chairman.

In 1974, the City of Suffolk merged with the City of Nansemond City Council and consolidated Nansemond Redevelopment and Housing Authority's and Suffolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority's Board of Commissioners. The new board consisted of George Y. Birdsong as Chairman. David Anderson C.M. Draper, Richard Harrell. G.S. Hobbs. W.E. Moody and Marvin R. Stephenson.


Cypress Manor/Parker Riddick Village. Named for Moses A. Riddick, Jr. (former member of the Nansemond County Board of Supervisors, former member of Suffolk City Council and former employee of SRHA) and Locke Parker (President of United Auto Workers [UAW] Local Union 26), Davis Boulevard, in the Cypress Manor Community, was named for Mr. Jasper Davis, an engineering consultant from Virginia Beach who suggested to Nansemond County officials to apply to the U.S. Department of HUD for participation in a rent subsidy program. Cogic Square, the street name of Cypress Manor Community, was named for the Church of God in Christ (COGIC) under the direction of Rev. D. Lawrence Williams. SRHA purchased Cypress Manor in 1976 and opened its doors in 1978. Parker village opened in 1981.

12 units of intermediary care for the mentally challenged know as the Finney Avenue Residence was constructed in 1979.


Hoffler Apartments which opened in 1984 was named for Dr. William M. Hoffler, Sr. who founded the first black hospital, Suffolk Community Hospital at the corner of Spruce Street and Madison Avenue, in 1942. Dr. Hoffler donated his home to First Baptist Church, Mahan Street, to be used as a convalescent home (First Baptist Hoffler Home for Adults) for ambulatory patients.

Colander Bishop Meadows which opened in 1986 was named for Bishop Obadiah Colander and Mr. King S. Bishop who organized neighborhood support groups in support of the public housing project in the Saratoga neighborhood.

Chorey Park Apartments which opened in 1987 was named for the Chorey Estates from which the land was purchased. Chorey Park houses the elderly, disabled and handicapped citizens of the City of Suffolk.

Five single-family homes were constructed in Saratoga through a partnership with Suffolk Habitat for Humanities in 1988.


Orlando Conservation Project designated by City Council as a conservation Area in 1996 and authorized SRHA to study and develop a comprehensive Plan that was approved in 1997. In December of 1997, SRHA started construction of 10 single family homes. All the homes were sold by December of 2000.

Hall Place Conservation Project designated by City Council as a Conservation area in 1996 and authorized SRHA to study and develop a comprehensive Plan that was approved in 1997. In February of 2000 construction began to create a new Entrance Park at South Main Street, Cedar Street and Hall Place which was dedicated in July 2000. The Hall Place Conservation project plan was approved by City Council in September 2002.

City-Wide Emergency Repair Program implemented in 1997. Disaster Relief Program, Hoffler: "Operation Rising Star" and the Elderly Rehabilitation Loan Program established in 1998.


Fairground Redevelopment Plan approved by Board of Commissioners and City Council.  SRHA/City of Suffolk entered into a Cooperative Agreement for the carrying out of professional and technical services in the acquisitions of real estate in the Hall Place Conservation and the Fairgrounds Redevelopment Project areas.

Board of Commissioners adopts the establishment of Performing ARts Program to serve youth residing in Public Housing.

Board of Commissioners adopts strategic goals and strategic Action Plan for SRHA.

SRHA receives certified Housing Counseling Agency designation from the Department of Housing and Urban Development.

Department of Housing and Urban Development authorizes SRHA to assume Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher administration of Nansemond Square Apartments.

SRHA earns seven (7) National Awards  of Merit from the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials.


SRHA establishes a Homebuyers Club to assist citizens who require additional assistance to become homeowners.

Board of Commissioners approved the Master Plan for the Cypress Manor and Parker Riddick Apartment Communities.

SRHA completed the acquisition of all properties necessary to assemble the development site for the Fairgrounds Redevelopment Project.

SRHA receives $956,000.00 in accordance with the American Recovery And Reinvestment Act (ARRA) to support the rehabilitation component of the Cypress Manor and Parker Riddick Master Plan.

SRHA earns six (6) National Awards  of Merit from the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials.

SRHA receives a $256,656 grant from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development as of the 13 Choice Neighborhoods Planning Grants totalling $3.6 million given out throughout the country to help woth efforts to revitalize housing.